Steering Committee Members

Jacqueline Arreola

Mary Audia

Bethany Glinsmann

Sally Hart

Chris Marshall

Deanna McCusker

Samantha Meyer

Michelle Redlinger

Jon Rees

Jaron Rosien

Isabella Santoro

Millie Youngquist

Mike Zahs

The Washington Great Places Steering Committee meets quarterly, at least.

The next meeting will be held at 1:30 p.m. April 13th at the Washington Chamber of Commerce, 205 West Main Street.

Iowa Great Places logo cmyk 2022The City of Washington has been named one of Iowa’s Great Places. The City received this recognition in the summer of 2022.

Washington was one of four new Iowa Great Places to receive the designation, alongside Jefferson, Oskaloosa, and Woodbine. The Iowa Great Places Program is part of the Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs. The ten-year designation provides technical assistance, professional development, and competitive funding opportunities for community projects designed to enhance cultural opportunities.

“The Iowa Great Places and Iowa Cultural and Entertainment Districts form the backbone of our state’s overall community building and tourism strategy,” Gov. Kim Reynolds said. “Each place tells an authentic story, and we’re proud to support their proud community spirit and hard work.”

An application was organized by a citizen committee in partnership with organizations in Washington. The group worked for over a year to gather information and input from residents, including public surveys and the City submitted the application in May 2022.

See the Vision Plan from these efforts below.


Here are a few links to learn about the program, provide your input, and follow our progress:


The Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs and its divisions – the State Historical Society of Iowa, including the State Historic Preservation Office; the Iowa Arts Council; the interim Iowa Humanities Council; and Produce Iowa, the state office of media production – empower Iowans to build and sustain culturally vibrant communities by connecting to the people, places and points of pride that define our state.



Photo courtesy of the Washington Evening Journal/ Southeast Iowa Union